The Files screen has allowed you to easily create Websites to share files with other people, including a photo gallery option to instantly turn a directory full of pictures into a easy to use and powerful photo gallery (example).
One thing that hasn’t been possible though is to allow other people to upload files to a directory. That’s now possible with the new Publish as “Files & Dir listing with upload” on the Websites screen. When you publish a directory in this mode, it displays the usual list of files in the directory, but also includes an area at the bottom to allow people to upload a file.
If you use this feature, there are currently a number of limitations you should be aware of:
- There’s no way to limit the amount or size of files people can upload. People will be able to upload files until your file storage area reaches it’s quota
- You can however password protect the website so that only people you give the password to will be able to upload
- Existing files in the directory cannot be deleted or overwritten, only new files can be uploaded
- You can allow uploads into a photo gallery by publishing the directory as two separate URLs. For instance you might publish a directory as a “Photo gallery” with no password to the URL http://photos.yourusername.fastmail.fm so everyone can see it, but also publish the same directory as a “Files & Dir listing with upload” to the URL http://upload.yourusername.fastmail.fm, which you might also password protect to limit who can upload photos