Actions performed on intersection of searched & view & selected

As mentioned in this forum post, I’ve made a change on the beta server in the way messages are actioned on the mailbox screen.

On the regular server, when you select an action on the mailbox screen and click “Do”, it’s performed on ALL selected messages in the folder, even if some selected messages aren’t currently visible because of the current view or search.

Currently on the beta server, when you select an action on the mailbox screen and click “Do”, it’s performed on the intersection of selected messages, viewed messages (eg the All / Unread / Read / Flagged / Selected), and any search criteria currently in operation.

This has been discussed previously, and I think this is quite a good idea, especially because the current approach seems to result in unexpected messages being deleted.

There are one or two slightly odd side effects of this change as mentioned in the forum post that I’m looking for some feedback on.

Update: This change has now been rolled out to all production servers

Posted in Technical. Comments Off

Personality "Save Sent" & "Bcc" via SMTP on beta server

A new feature is currently available on the beta server which allows you to save a message to a folder, or Bcc it to extra addresses, even when you send via SMTP (eg email software) rather than the web interface. You configure this on the Options -> Personalities screen just as you would for sending through the web interface, but you check the extra checkboxes “Also send to Bcc addresses when sending via email software” or “Also save to folder when sending via email software”.

Most email software used in IMAP mode already allows you to save a copy of a message to a Sent Items folder, but some (eg Outlook) make it harder than it should be. Also because SMTP and IMAP are separate, this means that normally a message has to actually be transmitted to the server twice (once via SMTP to send it, and once via IMAP to upload it to the Sent Items folder). With this new approach, only one copy has to be transmitted to the server, saving time and bandwidth. Another useful option is to use the Bcc option to forward a copy of every sent message to another server for archival and compliance purposes.

Discussion of this feature is occuring on this forum thread

Posted in Technical. Comments Off
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,715 other followers